Award Ceremony

European Young Drama Award
This year, the European Young Drama Award and it’s €25,000 prize money is being presented to Ukrainian playwright Lena Lagushonkova. Schauspiel Stuttgart bestows the award once every two years and it is funded by SRH Holding, chairman Prof. Dr. Christof Hettich. Marius Ivaškevičius, Lithuanian playwright, essayist, author, screenwriter, journalist and director, will hold the laudation and was the single juror of this year’s Young Drama Award.
Following the award ceremony, there will be a performance of Lena Lagushonkova’s piece Мать Горького / Gorkis Mutter at 8 pm in the Kammer Theatre.
Lena Laguszonkowa was born Stanytsia Luhanska in Ukraine and studied history at Luhanska University. Her work so far is comprised of eight pieces all of which premiered at theatres in Kyiv, Kharkiv or Odessa. She has worked with the Young and PostPlay Theatres, has co-curated projects for the National Association of Theatre Activists of Ukraine and is co-founder of the Theater of Playwrights in Kyiv. She writes about life in Ukraine against the backdrop of the violent changes since the 1990s, the protests on the Maidan and the occupation of East Ukraine. Based on fragments of everyday life, Lagushonkova’s pieces tell of war, poverty and devastation in a gentle and precise voice – both funny and tragic in equal measure