Caryl Churchill

Foto: Marc Brenner
The British playwright Caryl Churchill was born in London in 1938. She grew up in the Lake District and, during the Second World War, her family moved to Montreal, Canada. Churchill later returned to England to read English Literature at Oxford University, graduating in 1960. It was also while at Oxford that she began her literary career, writing three plays for student theatre groups. She went on to write plays for radio and television, then increasingly for the stage. In 1974, she became the first female playwright in residence at London's Royal Court Theatre, where she had her definitive breakthrough in 1979 with Cloud Nine. In this play she contextualised colonialism and feminism, had women play male roles and vice versa. In other plays, she explored her socialist convictions. She constantly developed the feminist position, and time and again her work radically broke with theatrical conventions. She earned numerous awards (including the Olivier Award and induction into the American Theater Hall of Fame) and left her mark on entire generations of British playwrights.
"Caryl Churchill has in some 40 plays – each a new creative challenge – developed her complex, innovative, visionary vocabulary ... England's most important playwright." (Theatre heute)

Her best-known plays include Top Girls (1982), Serious Money (1987), Far Away (2000), A Number (2002) and Love and Information (2012). Her work has been translated into nearly 40 languages; it has been performed around the globe, in over 45 countries, from Bulgaria to Australia, from Spain to China, Japan, Egypt, France, Germany, the USA and Canada, Slovenia, Italy, Estonia, the Philippines, much of South America and many more. In recent years Churchill has turned her attention to music and dance, collaborating with musicians and choreographers.

Caryl Churchill has in the past received multiple awards for her extensive work, including the Obie Award for Playwriting and the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize several times. She has also received the Olivier Award and was inducted into the American Theatre Hall of Fame in 2010.

Caryl Churchill

Foto: Marc Brenner
Die britische Dramatikerin Caryl Churchill wurde 1938 in London geboren. Sie wuchs zunächst im Lake District auf, während des Zweiten Weltkriegs emigrierte ihre Familie nach Montreal, Kanada. Später kehrte Churchill für ihr Studium der Englischen Literatur an der Oxford University nach England zurück, welches sie 1960 abschloss. Dort begann sie auch ihre literarische Laufbahn, indem sie drei Stücke für studentische Theatergruppen schrieb. Anschließend verfasste sie zunächst Stücke für Radio und Fernsehen, dann mehr und mehr für die Bühne. 1974 wurde sie als erste Frau Hausautorin am Londoner Royal Court Theatre, wo ihr 1979 mit Siebter Himmel der endgültige Durchbruch gelang. In diesem Stück kontextualisierte sie Kolonialismus und Feminismus, ließ Frauen Männerrollen spielen und umgekehrt. In anderen Stücken setzte sie sich mit ihren sozialistischen Überzeugungen auseinander. Die feministische Position entwickelte sie stetig weiter. Mit ihrem Werk, das theatralische Konventionen immer wieder radikal sprengte und für das sie vielfach ausgezeichnet wurde (u. a. mit dem Olivier Award und der Aufnahme in die American Theatre Hall of Fame), hat sie ganze Generationen von britischen Dramatiker:innen geprägt.
„Caryl Churchill hat in rund 40 Stücken – jedes eine neue kreative Herausforderung – ihr komplexes, visionär-innovatives Vokabular entwickelt … Die wichtigste Theaterautorin Englands.“ (Theater heute)

Zu ihren bekanntesten Stücken gehören Top Girls (1982), Serious Money (1987), In weiter Ferne (2001), Die Kopien (2002) und Liebe und Information (2012). Ihr Werk wurde bisher in fast 40 Sprachen übersetzt; gespielt wird es rund um den Globus in über 45 Ländern, von Bulgarien bis Australien, von Spanien bis China, Japan, Ägypten, Frankreich, Deutschland, den USA und Kanada, Slowenien, Italien, Estland, den Philippinen, weiten Teilen Südamerikas und vielen mehr. In den letzten Jahren wandte Churchill sich dem Bereich Musik und Tanz zu und arbeitete mit Musiker:innen und Choreograph:innen zusammen.

Für ihr umfangreiches Wirken erhielt Caryl Churchill in der Vergangenheit bereits zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter mehrfach den Obie Award for Playwriting und den Susan Smith Blackburn Prize. Außerdem wurde sie mit dem Olivier Award ausgezeichnet und 2010 in die American Theatre Hall of Fame aufgenommen.